Abuja Business Reports Newspaper & Magazine

…Authoritative Business News Everytime

Muhammad Auwal Ibrahim Lekan Otufodunrin award 2021 winner
Investigation News

Abuja Business Reports’ Journalist Shortlisted For Inaugural Lekan Otufodunrin Journalists Award 2021

Share To Social Media

This post has already been read 300 times!

Muhammad Auwal Ibrahim, a correspondent with the Abuja Business Reports newspaper have been shortlisted for the first edition of Lekan Otufodunrin journalists award 2021.

This was disclosed by Shehu Olayinka, social media manager with the ICIR on twitter, 1st May, 2021.

According to Shehu Olayinka, the organiser of the initiative, five entries were selected out of the 61 entries received from 20 tertiary institutions across Nigeria.

“The successful applicants were selected from 61 entries submitted by student’s journalists from various institutions across Nigeria.” he said.

“The Lekan Otufodurin Journalists’ Award is glad to announce that five journalists have been named as finalists for the inaugural edition of the award.”

ALSO READ  Nigerian Youths Urge Tinubu To Consider A Youth-Friendly Leader For Appointment

The five successful applicants were selected from 61 entries submitted by students journalists from various institutions across Nigeria.”

Olayinka explained that: “The first-prize winner of this inaugural award will receive N70,000, second prize winner will bag N50,000 and third prize will receive N30,000. There are other cash prizes for other winners.”

The winning entries were said to have been first published or broadcast from January 1st, 2020 to January 31st, 2021.

The statement further added that “The award winner will be announced on May 9th, 2021, as part of the birthday celebration of Lekan Otufodurin.”

Recall that Abuja Business Reports reported to you last year that Mr. Ibrahim was shortlisted for the annual Youths Digest Journalism Awards 2020 and also got selected for the African Investigative Journalism Conference (AIJC) 2020, South Africa.

ALSO READ  ALGON National President Hails Hon. Mohammed Usman as He Celebrates His Birthday

Other finalists include, Fasilat Oluwuyi, Mohammed Yakubu, Odeyinka Oluwatobi and Ibrahim Kegbegbe Taofeek,

Winning entries

  1. Mohammed Yakubu: Evicted By Guns: How Niger State Residents Lose Homes, Families To Violent Crimes, Kidnappings | HumAngle
  2. Muhammad Ibrahim: INVESTIGATION: How Nigerian State Governments Poorly Interacted with Citizens via Emails During COVID-19 Pandemic, Despite ICT Advancement – Abuja Business Reports
  3. Fasilat Oluwuyi: Between Waters and Fishes: How water pollution set lingering crisis for Ogun fishermen – Platform Times
  4. Ibrahim Kegbegbe Taofeek: Lekki Conservation Centre: Protecting Wildlife, Mangrove Forest From Urban Threat (Daily Trust)
  5. Oluwatobi Odeyinka: INVESTIGATION: Agency diverts boreholes to ex-head of state’s residence, lawmaker’s farm, while community drinks from stream (http://premiumtimesng.com)

Discover more from Abuja Business Reports Newspaper & Magazine

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

ALSO READ  CNG States Position On Reported Plots Against May 29 Handover, Wants Emefiele, Other Critical Government Officials Stopped From Fleeing Nigeria

Discover more from Abuja Business Reports Newspaper & Magazine

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading